Submit your nomination for the 2024 Socitm Awards

President's Team

Video: A welcome message from our 2023-2024 President, Mark Lumley

Interested in being a member of the President’s team?

Being part of this close-knit team with a proud history of more than 30 years, gives you unique opportunities to positively influence the public sector.

As president or vice-president, you will own one of our five policy themes which covers the key areas of interest for our members and wider sector.

Combing your own experience with Socitm’s voice, our president’s team are a trusted voice, building strong relationships with stakeholders in both local and central government together with the private sector.

The opportunity to develop Socitm to best represent and support the public sector’s vital work.

You can expect to enjoy an increasingly high profile, particularly in your area of specific interest and policy theme.

Together with contributions to Socitm’s physical and virtual events, our President’s team are sought after speakers at the best public and private sector networks throughout the UK and Europe.

You will also gain a wider perspective of work across the sector which can help support and validate recommendations you make for your own and other organisations.

Our presidents will normally serve as a vice-president for three years, before taking up the lead role.  They will hold a senior position within the public sector ICT / digital transformation.

A VP is elected to office by their peers. It is expected they will remain in office for three years after which they will become president. They will also hold a senior appointment within the ICT /digital arena.

This is more than just a voluntary role. The demand on time is significant, as are the requirements for availability to attend many ‘out of hours’ functions, including nights away from home.

Around 20-40% of the working week on average could be occupied by Socitm priorities.

While there is excellent support network from Socitm marketing and administrative staff, there will be an expectation, certainly from the wider government and ICT / digital community, that VPs and the president, will be knowledgeable across a broad range of strategic issues.

There will also be calls from journalists and frequent invitations to speak events or sit on panels covering a diverse range of topical issues.

Meet our President's Team

Mark Lumley

Mark Lumley

Director of ICT & digital at London Borough of Hounslow

Matt Lewis

Matt Lewis

Chief operating officer (COO), SRS Shared Resource Service


Kurt Frary

Deputy director of information management & technology / Chief technical officer (CTO) at Norfolk County Council


Carol Williams

Director of transformation and digital at Walsall Council

Yogita Popat

Yogita Popat

Assistant director of sustainability & insight, London Borough of Barnet

Immediate past president

Huw McKee

Head of IT and digital transformation at Conwy Council

Incoming president

During our annual President’s Conference, the inauguration of our incoming president takes place. This marks the official appointment to post for the forthcoming year.  


Know of someone who would make a great VP?

If you know someone who would love to become a part of the Socitm President’s team, nominate them! Please make sure they’re aware of the commitment first. 

Nominations for the 2024 president’s team will open next year and a new vice-president will be announced at President’s Conference, 12-13 June 2024.

Hall of honour

Being a Socitm president is a great honour, so it is fitting we pay tribute here to those who have served the role with distinction.

  1. Huw McKee | 2022
  2. Sam Smith | 2020, 2021
  3. Sandra Taylor | 2019
  4. Nicola Graham | 2018
  5. Geoff Connell | 2016, 2017
  6. Nadira Hussain | 2015
  7. Nick Roberts | 2014
  8. Steve Halliday | 2013
  9. Kay Brown | 2012
  10. Glyn Evans | 2011
  11. Jos Creese | 2010
  12. Steve Palmer | 2009
  13. Richard Steel | 2008
  14. Rose Crozier | 2007
  15. Peter Ryder | 2006
  16. Angela Waite | 2005
  17. Chris Guest | 2004
  18. Fahri Zihni | 2003
  19. Jim Haslem | 2002
  20. Robin Carsberg | 2001
  21. Martin Ferguson | 2000
  22. Bob Dunn | 1999
  23. Paul Offen | 1998
  24. Mark Wheatley | 1997
  25. Len Graves | 1996
  26. David Houston | 1995
  27. Roger Marshall | 1993, 1994
  28. Kate Mountain | 1991, 1992
  29. Rob Briggs | 1989, 1990
  30. John Serle | 1987, 1988
  31. Mike Barkway | 1986